November 19, 2020 /

Rainer Helmig elected "AGU Fellow 2020"

SFB 1313's spokesman Rainer Helmig has been elected "AGU Fellow 2020" by the American Geophysical Union.

Rainer Helmig, chair of the Department of Hydromechanics and Modelling of Hydrosystems at the Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems (IWS) of the University of Stuttgart and spokesman of the Collaborative Research Center (SFB) 1313, is one of the 62 researchers, being elected to the 2020 Class of Fellows by the American Geophysical Union. He now joins this prestigious group of researchers (less than 0.1% of the members) who have made exceptional contributions in the Earth and space sciences. Rainer Helmig’s curiosity and his relentless pursuit to answer open questions, as well as his enduring dedication and the impact of his contributions to the research field of porous media have led to his election.

With over 60,000 members, the AGU is the world's largest society for geoscientists dedicated to the scientific promotion of a more sustainable future. The Fellows program was established in 1962 and recognizes AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space science through a breakthrough, discovery, or innovation in their field.

This year, the AGU Fall Meeting will be an online event. There will be hosted a virtual ceremony to recognize the Fellows and the other Honors and Recognition winners on Wednesday, 9 December at 3 pm PT/6 pm ET/2200 UTC.

To the top of the page